Headlights must be used from sunset to sunrise, when a driver’s visibility is less 500 feet, and when windshield wipers are in use.
Do headlights need to be on when wipers are on?
According to the Department of Motor Vehicles’ California Driver Handbook, “You must turn on your headlights if snow, rain, fog, dust, or low visibility (1,000 feet or less) requires the use of windshield wipers.” This law, as stated in California Vehicle Code 24400, took effect in January 2008.
How many states require headlights on when raining?
According to the AAA Digest of Motor Laws, eighteen other states in addition to Massachusetts require headlight usage specifically when windshield wipers are in operation, including our neighbors in Maine, Rhode Island and New York.
Do your lights have to be on when it’s raining?
The law says you must turn your headlights on 30 minutes after sunset and leave them on until 30 minutes before sunrise. You must turn your lights on any time you can’t see at least 1000 feet ahead. Use your low beam headlights whenever it is raining. … Use low beams in fog, snow, or heavy rain.
When driving with your windshield wipers on what must you do by law?
All vehicles legally need to be equipped with windshield wipers to clear snow, rain, or any other moisture from obstructing the windshield. This means that the windshield wipers in question must be in excellent working order so that they can perform the task at hand (i.e. cleaning your windows).
Is driving with broken wipers illegal?
Driving with faulty wiper blades isn’t just potentially dangerous, it’s also illegal but as many as two thirds of drivers don’t know when they should replace them. Wipers that don’t clear the screen properly affect drivers’ visibility and count as an MOT fail.
Should I drive with my headlights on during the day?
When to Use Headlights During the Day
Daytime headlight use is highly recommended (and sometimes required) during adverse weather conditions, such as fog, smoke, rain, snow, sleet, or when visibility is less than 500 feet. Turn on your lights whenever you see a “daylight headlight section” sign.
When must you turn your headlights on?
You must turn on your vehicle’s headlights from 30 minutes after sunset, until 30 minutes before sunrise, and at any other time when you can’t clearly see a person or vehicle 100 metres away.
Can you get a ticket for driving with high beams on?
High beams are designed to give you greater range of view but they can blind oncoming traffic or drivers viewing them in mirrors, just as their high beams can blind you. This is a traffic hazard. So, yes, you can get pulled over for driving with your high beams on if you are in a low-heat zone.